20 August 2013

The temple for impressionist artist

Amongst the major Parisian buildings, the Marmottan Monet Museum is without a doubt one of the most beautiful. Located in the heart of an old hunting pavilion dated from the 18th century, this particular hotel handed by the collector Paul Marmottan to the Académie des Beaux-Arts (Academy of Fine Arts) in 1934. Privileged place of the First French Empire and impressionism, its devoted to the works of Claude Monet, and also showcases the legacy of his second son, Michel Monet.

Claude Monet’s most important collection in the world
Caricatures of personalities from Le Havre at Nymphéas, from the beach in Trouville to the Saint-Lazare Station, all the major works from this Impressionism pope are present here. An important collection that gave the final name to the museum. Far from displaying only the paintings of this master, it also shows the works of Edouard Manet, Edgar Degas, Auguste Renoir, or even Henri Rouart.

Berthe Morisot, the inventive impressionist
Amongst these men, a woman slides through this prestigious list: Berthe Morisot (1841-1895). The most renowned of impressionist women was never included in a Parisian retrospective up until half a century ago. The Marmottan Monet Museum redeemed itself and will be showing until July 1st 2012, over 150 pastels, paintings, watercolors and charcoals of this artist. Throughout this event, we learnt that she was the only one to mix Renoir’s design to Monet’s dissolution of forms. A good reason to discover her work, two steps away from Trocadéro.

Musée Marmottan Monet
2, rue Louis-Boilly
75016 Paris
France
T.: +33 (0)1 44 96 50 33
http://www.marmottan.fr/

© Copyright 2014 - Hôtel Élysées-Mermoz

20 août 2013

Le musée secret des artistes impressionnistes

Parmi les plus grands édifices d’art Parisiens, le Musée Marmottan Monet est sans aucun doute l’un des plus beaux. Installé au cœur d’un ancien pavillon de chasse datant du XVIIIe siècle, cet hôtel particulier fut légué par le collectionneur Paul Marmottan à l’Académie des Beaux-Arts en 1934. Lieu privilégié du Premier Empire et de l’impressionnisme, il met à l’honneur les œuvres de Claude Monet, en témoigne l’important legs du second fils du peintre, Michel Monet.

La plus importante collection au monde d’œuvres de Monet
De caricatures de personnalités havraises aux Nymphéas, de La Plage à Trouville à la Gare Saint-Lazare, toutes les œuvres majeures du pape de l’impressionnisme sont ici présentées. Une importante collection qui donnera son nom définitif au musée. Loin de n’exposer que des toiles du maître, le monument accueille également les œuvres d’Edouard Manet, Edgar Degas, Auguste Renoir, ou encore Henri Rouart.

Berthe Morisot, l’inventive impressionniste
Parmi ces hommes, une femme vient se glisser dans cette liste prestigieuse: Berthe Morisot (1841-1895). La plus illustre des femmes impressionnistes n’avait pas connu de rétrospective Parisienne depuis près d’un demi-siècle. Le Musée Marmottan Monet a réparé la chose, et présente jusqu’au 1er juillet 2012, près de 150 pastels, peintures, aquarelles et fusains de l’artiste. Au travers de cet événement, l’on apprend qu’elle fut la seule à relier le dessin de Renoir à la dissolution des formes de Monet. Une bonne raison d’aller découvrir son œuvre à deux pas du Trocadéro.

 

Musée Marmottan Monet
2, rue Louis-Boilly
75016 Paris
France
T.: +33 (0)1 44 96 50 33
http://www.marmottan.fr/

© Copyright 2014 - Hôtel Élysées-Mermoz