20 August 2013

Epicentre of Parisian Events

A long time before becoming famous for fashion, art and gastronomy, Paris was known as capital of architecture. In the city of light every step is a wonder. What luck we have, at the Elysées Mermoz hotel, since the Grand Palais, a major architectural work, is so close.

Built for the 1900 World’s Fair, the museum makes Parisians proud and enchants plethora of tourists every year. They are filled with admiration for its 8,500 tons of steel, its statues, its friezes and its colourful mosaics not to mention its wonderful roof top! The building required the know-how of 40 contemporary artists. After a period of refurbishment (2008-2011) the Grand Palais is even more beautiful than ever and we can visit more spaces than before.

Today, the Grand Palais houses prestigious events and features French taste for excellence. They are far too many but we can mention some of them as the Saut Hermès, a show-jumping competition, Chanel Haute Couture catwalk shows, and other Contemporary Art events (Fiac, Art Paris, Monumenta, Paris Photo and so on), the Biennale des Antiquaires, the Electro night by SFR, the Jours de fêtes which promotes fairground activities and circus. A place to check A.S.A.P.!

Nave – Grand Palais
Avenue Winston Churchill
75008 Paris
France

© Copyright 2014 - Hôtel Élysées-Mermoz

20 août 2013

Temple des manifestions Parisiennes

Avant d’être une capitale d’art, de mode ou de gastronomie, Paris est avant tout une capitale d’architecture. Avec ses multiples monuments, la ville lumière promet un émerveillement à chaque pas, et à chaque coin de rue. Près de l’Hôtel Elysées Mermoz, nous avons la chance d’avoir l’une des plus belles réalisations de la capitale… le Grand Palais.

Avec ses 8 500 tonnes d’acier, ses statues, frises et polychromes en mosaïque et céramique, créés par 40 artistes contemporains, sans oublier sa magnifique verrière, cet édifice fait la fierté des Parisiens et le bonheur des touristes! Conçu à l’occasion de l’Exposition Universelle de 1900, il subit un programme de restauration de 2008 à 2011, afin de le magnifier et de rendre accessibles certains espaces jusqu’alors inaccessibles.

Aujourd’hui, le Grand Palais sert d’écrin à de prestigieuses manifestations, promouvant l’excellence à la française. Du Saut Hermès, un concours hippique illustre, aux défilés de Haute Couture signés Chanel, en passant par les événements d’Art contemporain (FIAC, Art Paris, Monumenta ou Paris Photo), par la Biennale des Antiquaires, la Nuit électro SFR, ou les Jours de fêtes dédiés aux arts forains et au cirque, ce monument fait partie intégrante de la vie de la cité. Un lieu à découvrir dès que possible!

Nef du Grand Palais

Avenue Winston-Churchill
75008 Paris
France
http://www.grandpalais.fr/

© Copyright 2014 - Hôtel Élysées-Mermoz